Advertisement

The Story Behind This App That iPhone Users Are "Forced" To Download

In June 2015, Facebook launched a new app called Moments. It aims to facilitate the photo-sharing process between friends when they take photos during group outings. You may have already tried out the app, or perhaps you choose not to use it. But now, Facebook is giving you an ultimatum.

The social media giant now requires its iPhone users to download the Moments app by July 7th to keep their privately synced photos in its cloud storage. As you may remember - perhaps not-so-fondly - a similar ultimatum was given to us when Facebook removed its Messenger feature from its mobile web application, forcing users to download the app if they wanted to continue chatting with Facebook friends on mobile. Now, you'll have to make the same tough choice in order to keep your photos.

The Moments app was created as a "quick, easy way to gather the photos you and friends take together," as it states on its official website. "[It is] an easy way to get all the photos of yourself trapped on your friends' phones. After events, celebrations, trips, or just hanging out, it's no longer a hassle to collect all the photos and videos you'll want to look back on."

Moments

Oftentimes, we eagerly wait for our friends to share or upload photos from group outings, but many of them never do so. This can be pretty disappointing, especially if the event was particularly meaningful to you, such as your birthday party or your wedding.

Moments

Other times, you and your friends may all be snapping away at the same scenery or subject, only to end up with ten different-yet-incredibly-similar photos taken from ten separate phones. It's no fun having to pick and choose between something like that.

Moments

With Moments, you and your friends can instantly share photos taken from the same event with the help of its integrated (albeit not-so-perfect) facial recognition system. The app also categorizes the photos based on who is in the photos, as well as when and where the pictures were captured.

TechCrunch

Advertisement

So, in theory, it is a fantastic way to organize and share the pictures that capture the full story from any given event or occasion. But how is this app threatening to delete your photos, you ask? Are you really forced to download the app, much like how most of us (more than 900 million, in fact) felt pressured into installing the Messenger app?

iTunes

Since its availability in 2012, many iPhone users rely on Facebook to automatically sync and upload the photos from their phones into a private Facebook album. It works like other cloud storage services, such as Dropbox, Google Photos, and OneDrive.

Moments

On January 10 of this year, Facebook disabled this photo-syncing feature and moved all the photos to Moments, which is why you'll need to download the app in order to continue having access to your old photos.

TechCrunch

You may have received an email notification regarding this big change recently, reading: "We wanted to let you know that photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook. If you want to keep your [number of photos], download Moments and log in before July 7. If you don't want Moments, you can also download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile."

TechCrunch

But here's the critical part: "Otherwise, [these photos] will be deleted. This won't affect photos or videos you've shared on Facebook."

TechCrunch

Advertisement

So, for those of you who have been syncing photos from your iOS camera roll to the private Synced Photos album, make sure that you back up those photos as soon as possible. If you don't want to use the Moments app, be sure to save those pictures to your computer.

TechCrunch

Since the issue of this warning, the Moments app has surged to the top in the App Store rankings. Many users are scrambling to download the photo-sharing app to keep their photos safe or because they are unaware of which photos Facebook is going to delete. And, when it comes to your precious pictures, it is always better to be safe than sorry.

TechCrunch

To be clear, photos and videos that you have publicly shared on Facebook will be unaffected. This issue only pertains to the pictures that you have synced from your iOS camera roll to Facebook's private Synced Photos album. If you're unsure if this will affect your photos, play it safe. It is always a good idea to back up your photos and videos regardless.

TechCrunch

To learn more about what’s going to happen to your privately synced Facebook photos, check out the video below:

Be sure to SHARE this critical information with your friends and family!

H/T: LifeBuzz

Trending Today: