Advertisement

This Is An Unfortunate Time To Learn That Headbutts Don't Count In Hockey

May 23, 2015 By Houston Barber
Andrew Shaw of the Chicago Blackhawks scored what was almost the most improbable goal of his career during a playoff game against the Anaheim Ducks. Shaw found himself face to face with the floating puck in double overtime and used his head to knock the puck past the goalie, to win the game. The only problem, however, is that the NHL rule book states, "Goals shall be disallowed when the puck has been directed... into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick."

Shaw's goal in double overtime was ruled illegal, but fortunately for him and the Blackhawks, teammate Marcus Kruger was able to score the real game winner in the next overtime period. When asked by a reporter what he was thinking during the bizarre goal, Shaw said, "It was just exciting, the reaction at the net. I was just out there using my head, I guess."
Advertisement
Advertisement
Trending Today: