Advertisement

10 Useful Facebook Settings Most People Don't Know About

Whether you like it or not, the fact that Facebook and social media have become deeply embedded into our daily lives is undeniable. These days, it's rare to find someone who doesn't have a Facebook.

But as much as we use it on a daily basis, it turns out that most of us know very little about unlocking Facebook's full potential. Here are several incredibly useful features that a lot of users probably never knew about.

1. Read your "hidden" messages

Not a lot of people realize that you actually get two inboxes on Facebook - one for people you are friends with and one for people you don't know. While this second inbox is often just a great way to filter out junk messages, you may also find things like messages and invites from friends of friends, or maybe someone you lost touch with before the social media era began. To read these, click the "Messages" icon, then click "Message Requests," followed by "See filtered requests."

2. Check where you're logged in

If you'd like to double check that you logged out of Facebook on a friend's computer, simply go to your "Settings" menu, then "Security." You'll see an option for "Where You're Logged In," which lets you track all the browsers you're currently logged in on and allows you to log out easily by clicking "End Activity."

3. Extra-secure login

If you're a bit skeptical of your security settings, beef them up by using "Login Approvals" in the "Security" tab. Now, whenever you log in from an unknown device, it will require a special password sent to your phone.

4. Choose friends to be responsible for your account

This feature lets you designate trusted friends to run your social media page in the event of your passing. Go to the "Security" tab and select "Trusted Contacts" to edit these settings. These contacts can't publish or chat on your behalf, but they can change the profile picture and answer friend requests.

Advertisement

5. Walking down Memory Lane

Sometimes you want to go back and revisit some of those old memories and conversations with your best friends. Instead of scrolling down endlessly until you find them, you can simply click the ellipsis icon on your friend's profile and click "See friendship."

6. Review all your past activity

On your own profile page, click "View Activity Log" to see everything you've ever posted, liked, shared, or commented.

7. See things from another perspective

Ever wonder what your profile and timeline look like to other people? Click the ellipsis icon on your own profile and select "View As..." to see what your profile looks like to the general public, or to a specific contact.

8. Face-to-face communication

Everyone knows Facebook has a chat option but did you know they also allow you to video chat? To start a video call, just click the camera icon visible at the top of the chat window. 

9. Choose what you want to see first

Advertisement

These are actually two separate settings that have similar functions - ensuring you see the things you're most interested in first. The "See First" button puts the posts of that particular person towards the top of your feed. The "Close Friends" function goes a step further by also sending you an alert whenever that person posts something,

10. Save posts for later

Facebook is a great way to pass the time, but sometimes you don't have enough time to read through an interesting post you may have spotted in passing. Thankfully, there's a feature that lets you save something to read later. Just click the little downward-facing arrow in the top corner of the post, then select "Save Post" or "Save Link." These can then be accessed later via the "Saved" tab on the left side of your home page.

Be sure to SHARE this with your family and friends.

H/T: Bright Side

Trending Today: